top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureothnieldf

The Lift

Early this morn’ I began the tussle.

Through tons of people I moved,

Attempting to beat the hustle.

Some pushed, others shoved,

All desperate to beat the bustle.

But for my sexy looks, I was removed.

And given a lift by a big shot

Who didn’t care how old I was;

As long as I was hot,

I was a good enough lass.

He pressed his number on me.

Insisting I give him a ring.

Then promised to take care of me

And give me everything

If I did the same;

There is definitely

A wife somewhere;

For I saw the ring.

But what did he care?

Out of respect, I asked,

“Do not worry”, he said,

“She will not know

As long as we are careful”.

He didn’t seem to mind

That it was immoral.

Nor did he seem to care

That I could be his child.

He says it’s only natural.

He did, however,

Offer some good advice;

I should focus on school,

Study hard and avoid boys.

Yeah he said that. Haha, hilarious isn’t it?

Somehow, boys are dangerous for me.

He, on the other hand…..

Is only protecting me.

He drops me off at school;

But not before he gives me

Some money for recess.

Today, my lunch will be cool.

I wish I could say the same

For another girl who has less,

Or the others that missed the lift.

d. othniel forte

10877968_10205685470004364_573228764_n.jpg


3 views0 comments
bottom of page